do you need a doctors note for cbd oil nm

How to Get a New Mexico Medical Marijuana Card in 2022

Are you interested in getting a Medical Marijuana Card in New Mexico? You’ve come to the right place. We hope this article acts as a valuable guide to help you understand the process of applying for your MMJ Card. We keep this information up to date to make sure it is accurate and makes your journey as simple as possible. Keep reading to find out more.

Get Your Medical Card

Connect with a licensed physician online in minutes.

Table of contents

Getting a New Mexico Medical Marijuana Card with Leafwell

Did you know that New Mexico was the first state to enact a medical cannabis law back in 1978? However, despite this, there has been some slow developments in the process of applying over the past few years. Applications must still be posted or submitted in person, for example and it is not yet possible to apply online. However, Leafwell is here to help smooth the journey as much as possible for you, including providing certifications from state licensed physicians.

Telehealth or telemedicine is available in New Mexico for both new and existing patients.

With Leafwell, it is quick and simple and secure to get a New Mexico Medical Marijuana Card online. We’ve put together this valuable guide which will answer all your questions and help individuals living in New Mexico State understand the importance of applying for their New Mexico MMJ Card via the easy, HIPAA Compliant process offered by Leafwell’s telemedicine platform. You can visit our Ultimate Guide to Getting a Medical Marijuana Card for more general information.

We’ve put together this guide which will answer all your questions and help individuals living in New Mexico State.

Who Can Apply?

Patients must be aged 18 years old or over in order to qualify for a medical marijuana card and obtain a physician’s certificate for themselves in New Mexico.

For minor patients under the age of 18, or those who are over 18 but need a caregiver due to their condition, a caregiver can be designated to apply on their behalf. The primary caregiver is designated by a patient’s practitioner as necessary to take responsibility for managing the well-being of a qualified patient with respect to the medical use of cannabis. Primary caregiver must be a resident of New Mexico. The caregiver must be 18 years of age or older.

What Does an MMJ Card Permit in New Mexico?

Here are the current possession limits which a medical marijauna card permits in New Mexico:

  • 230 units over a rolling 3 month period

This is a confusing way of categorizing cannabis products, unique to New Mexico. A unit varies according to product which makes calculating how much you can have difficult. Here are the unit guidelines:

  • Dried flower: 1 unit = 1 gram
    • Therefore 230 units = about 8 oz of dried flower

    Recreational use is now legal in New Mexico but adults (aged 21 and over) can only possess 2 ounces. They can grow up to six mature plants for personal use.

    How Do I Apply for a New Mexico Medical Cannabis Identification Card?

    With Leafwell, you can get your New Mexico Medical Marijuana Card in 4 simple steps:

    1. Register online with Leafwell

    It’s quick and easy! Plus all of your data and medical records are secure on our state-of-the-art telemedicine platform.

    2. Consult with a certified physician, licensed in New Mexico state with Leafwell

    This initial consultation fee is $100. Once you’ve completed the enrolment paperwork, you’ll be connected to a New Mexico physician. The process is simple and HIPAA-compliant. Once approved, your physician submit your details online to the state.

    3. Submit the application to the New Mexico government

    Complete the government application online.

    4. Your medical marijuana card will be sent to you via mail within 35 days of your submission

    Most cards arrive much sooner but when the government is experiencing high volume, patients may have to wait a little longer. The card is valid for 3 years but you will need to meet with a Leafwell physician every year to recertify that your qualifying condition is still applicable. Please note that cards are issued by the state, not Leafwell. Leafwell will not be mailing you anything.

    Get Your Medical Card

    Connect with a licensed physician online in minutes.

    What Does my Online Medical Marijuana Evaluation with Leafwell Include?

    Using Leafwell, you can meet with one of our physicians on our telemedicine platform. You will talk about your medical conditions and discuss if medical marijuana is a good choice for you.

    At the end of the consultation, the registered practitioner will be able to make an informed decision about whether he or she recommends the use of medical cannabis based on the medical information they have obtained.

    If an application is unsuccessful, you will not be charged for the consultation.

    How Much Does it Cost for an NM MMJ Card and Medical Cannabis Certification?

    The consultation for a new patient with Leafwell costs $199. The process is easy and HIPPA compliant.

    There is a no application fee that needs to be paid to the state when you submit your application for a New Mexico medical marijuana card.

    Please note that because cannabis is federally illegal, insurance companies will not cover any costs incurred from applying for a medical marijuana card.

    Get Your Medical Card

    Connect with a licensed physician online in minutes.

    What Conditions Qualify for Medical Marijuana Cards in New Mexico?

    There is an ever-expanding list of conditions which qualify a patient for a medical marijuana card in New Mexico. As of October 2021, here are the medical conditions which qualify for an MMJ ID Card in New Mexico:

    During your consultation with a state-licensed physician on the Leafwell telemedicine platform, you will discuss one or more of these medical conditions to help our physician understand whether medical marijuana could help you.

    By taking the correct dose of medical marijauna, many patients who experience symptoms from a wide range of medical conditions find their lives transformed. Medical marijuana can give individuals back their energy and capacity to enjoy life, get out in the fresh air and lead a comfortable, healthy and happy existence in the beautiful New Mexico outdoors. We believe in the power of medical marijuana to change lives for the better and give individuals the power to control their own medical conditions. Our licensed physicians believe this too which is why they work with Leafwell and help as many patients as possible to secure a medical marijuana card if they, as experts, believe cannabis may help alleviate symptoms and medical issues.

    Marijuana law is strict in New Mexico unless you are protected as a patient, so apply for your Medical Marijuana Card as soon as possible.

    What Documents Do I Need to Apply for a Medical Cannabis Card?

    In order to apply for your MMJ Card in New Mexico, you will need to show some identification documents. You should gather together the following:

    • ID
    • Medical records

    Below are all of the acceptable forms these documents may take.

    Acceptable ID

    • Driver’s license
    • Valid US Passport
    • State-produced ID card

    Medical Records

    • Primary Care Physician diagnosis/notes
    • Specialist diagnosis
    • Radiographic evidence of relevant condition
    • Blood work related to qualifying condition

    Do I Need to Present my Medical Records to Leafwell?

    Yes. In order to responsibly sign a certificate which permits individuals to apply for an MMJ card, our registered practitioners must have a comprehensive understanding of your medical history. This allows them to provide an accurate assessment to ensure that medical cannabis is a good option for each patient on a case by case basis. We request the following (if applicable):

    • Physician’s or specialist’s diagnosis
    • Radiology/MRI/X-ray image
    • Relevant ab test results

    Get Your Medical Card

    Connect with a licensed physician online in minutes.

    You may also be required to provide these details to the New Mexico government when you complete your application.

    How Does a Caregiver Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card?

    Caregivers must be aged 21 or over. Caregiver fills out their own application form, and must be listed on the patient’s application form as well. The link to the application form is at the bottom of this page.

    Can a Qualifying Patient Grow Cannabis in New Mexico?

    Home cultivation of up to 16 plants (4 mature, 12 immature) may be grown if the patient has the appropriate license.

    To apply for a Personal Production License (PPL), you will need to complete a Medical Cannabis Personal Production Application and submit it with a $30 license fee. Fee waivers are available according to federal poverty guidelines.

    Are my Details Kept Confidential When I Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card?

    Yes. Leafwell is committed to protecting the privacy of our patients. Our online service is HIPAA compliant and our systems are designed to keep all of your confidential details safe.

    Does New Mexico Have Medical Marijuana Reciprocity?

    Yes. As of 1st July, 2020, those with a valid medical marijuana identification card (MMIC) from another state can purchase cannabis from a licensed New Mexico dispensary.

    Getting a Medical Marijuana Card in Santa Fe, Bernalillo, Albuquerque and Las Cruces, New Mexico

    Some counties and municipalities in New Mexico have introduced additional laws. Santa Fe decriminalised small amounts of cannabis back in August 2014, 5 years before the rest of the state. Bernalillo followed suit in September 2014. Albuquerque decriminalised possession of up to one ounce of cannabis in April 2018.

    In February 2020, Las Cruces City Council approved a resolution which urged the state legislature to pass the Cannabis regulation Act which would legalize recreational cannabis in the state. We expect the consequences of this to be addressed in the aftermath of Covid-19.

    Check back here soon to find the closest clinic to your home.

    Marijuana law is strict in New Mexico unless you are protected as a patient, so apply for your Medical Marijuana Card as soon as possible.

    History of Medical Marijuana Laws in New Mexico

    Here is a brief overview of the history of medical marijuana laws in New Mexico:

    1923 – The cultivation, importation and sale of cannabis was banned

    1978 – Controlled Substances Therapeutic Research Act passed and makes New Mexico the first state to pass legislation which allows the medical use of cannabis in some form. The program allowed cancer patients to receive cannabis or THC

    2007 – "The Lynn and Erin Compassionate Use Act" is approved, removing state-level penalties for those who need to use marijuana for medical purposes. This established a Patient Registry Program

    March 2019 – A bill to legalize recreational use was passed by the House

    July 2019 – Decriminalization came into effect in July. First-time possession of up to half ounce is now a petty misdemeanour which comes with a $50 fine. This law also decriminalized possession of drug paraphernalia.

    July 2020 – Patients from other states with a medical marijuana program and identification card system can now use their MMICs in New Mexico dispensaries.

    2021 – Recreational cannabis use for adults aged 21 and older became legal

    Possession of 8 ounces or more is a felony, and carries with it up to 1.5 years incarceration and/or a fine of $5,000. This is similar to distribution of 100 pounds or less of cannabis for a first offense.

    Cultivation without a license is a felony, with 9 years incarceration and a $10,000 fine. Sentence and fine is doubled for any subsequent offenses, or if within a school zone.

    Possession of hash or concentrates is a misdemeanor, and can land one in jail for up to 1 year and a $1,000 fine. Distributing or making hash or concentrates is a felony, with up to 3 years’ imprisonment and a $5,000 fine.

    Possessing or distributing paraphernalia is a misdemeanor, with up to 1 year imprisonment and a $100 fine.

    Driving licenses may be revoked upon conviction for those aged 15 or older.

    Useful Links

    To find out more about getting a Medical Marijuana Card in New Mexico, get in touch with the expert Leafwell team today or use any of these verified resources below:

    Where to Buy CBD in New Mexico

    Want to buy CBD oil in New Mexico? Before you commit to a purchase, you should be aware of the laws and regulations regarding CBD oil. This article will run you through the laws and show you the best places to buy locally and online!

    Article By

    If you want to find out how to purchase legal CBD in New Mexico, you’ve come to the right place.

    This article will walk you through the laws regarding marijuana products and show you some of the best ways to place an order for CBD in New Mexico!

    Generally, it’s easiest to make your purchase through an online supplier. There will usually be a more extensive selection of products at a lower price point.

    CBD is one of the newest players in the health supplement industry. It can be used to treat many different conditions and provides relief from pain, inflammation, anxiety, and seizures.

    Some CBD products are made better than others. There are so many different CBD suppliers out there that it can be hard to know which is the right one for you.

    A great place to start is to examine the legal climate around CBD and marijuana in New Mexico.

    Table of Contents

    Buy CBD Oil in New Mexico:

      — Best CBD Oil Overall— Best CBD Gummies— Best CBD Isolate Oil— Best CBD Flower— Best CBD Oil For Dogs

    Is CBD Legal in New Mexico in 2022?

    Yes, you can buy CBD in New Mexico. Even better, you now have access to hemp-derived and marijuana-derived products.

    CBD can be produced from both flowering marijuana and industrial hemp plants.

    Flowering marijuana plants produce CBD that contains enough THC to get the user high. This type of CBD is only legal to buy in states with legalized marijuana.

    On the other hand, CBD made using industrial hemp doesn’t usually contain enough THC to get the user high. Industrial hemp products, including CBD, were made entirely legal in 2018 under the Agricultural Act.

    When the Federal Government introduced the Agricultural Act in 2014, industrial hemp was removed from the list of federally prohibited Controlled Substances; this meant that farmers were free to grow industrial hemp to make fuel, food, clothing, and extracts such as CBD.

    Hundreds of entrepreneurs jumped at the opportunity to produce CBD. Unfortunately, this means it can sometimes be challenging to find a reliable supplier of quality CBD in New Mexico.

    Take a look at our guide below to make sure you get the best CBD for your money!

    How to Find Quality CBD in New Mexico

    As the industry continues to grow, more dishonest CBD companies are trying to get their hands on the massive amount of cash that can be made by selling CBD.

    This makes it hard to tell the good stuff from the bad.

    How to Protect Yourself from Sketchy CBD Companies
    • Only purchase CBD extracted with CO2. CO2 extraction is the best way to make CBD as it doesn’t use any additional chemicals or solvents, which helps to keep your CBD pure.
    • Don’t buy from companies that make wild claims about the potential of CBD. While CBD can help you manage the symptoms of many different medical conditions, it’s not going to cure you overnight. If a company is making outrageous claims about CBD, don’t trust it.
    • Make sure a third-party lab has tested your CBD. This step is especially important. Third-party labs can make sure that the CBD inside the product matches what the company is advertising. Additionally, labs can make sure that the CBD is free of any harmful additives.

    If you follow those few steps, you’ll find a reliable supplier for your CBD needs in no time.

    Online Shops

    Shopping online gives you access to valuable information about the company that can tell you a lot about whether or not its products are legit. Take your time when shopping for CBD so that you get the right product for your needs.

    Making your purchase online is the most common way of buying CBD because you can conveniently shop at any time, without the need to drive around to different stores.

    Most importantly, buying CBD online is significantly cheaper than buying in-store. Online stores can offer you discount deals or bulk purchase sales that would be difficult to find locally.

    Local Stores in New Mexico

    If you’re brand new to CBD, it’s understandable if you prefer to head into a store and look at the products in person.

    If you want to buy CBD locally, the best place to go is your local dispensary. They will have knowledgeable staff who can recommend CBD that works for your unique situation.

    Otherwise, you should be able to find industrial hemp CBD in vape stores, head shops, and natural health outlets.

    Is Marijuana Legal in New Mexico in 2022?

    New Mexico has legalized recreational and medicinal marijuana.

    In 2021, the Cannabis Regulation Act (HB 2) was signed into law, legalizing the personal use of marijuana.

    In June 2021, a new law made it legal for residents over 21 to have two ounces of marijuana, sixteen grams of extract, and up to six mature plants.

    A separate law expunged past convictions for crimes that the Cannabis Regulation Act made legal.

    There are circumstances to be aware of if you use marijuana at all: don’t drive high, lie to the police, smoke weed in public, sell it, or take it into or out of New Mexico.

    New Mexico was the First State to Pass Marijuana Legislation

    New Mexico was the first state to recognize the medicinal value of marijuana way back in 1978. The Controlled Substances Therapeutic Research Act established a program that allowed marijuana access for research purposes to a few patients suffering from cancer and glaucoma.

    Lynn Pierson had testicular cancer and suffered from the side effects of chemotherapy. He found it nearly impossible to eat and was feeling nauseous constantly.

    His doctor had heard that marijuana was useful for treating the side-effects of chemotherapy, and subtly recommended that he try it out.

    It worked wonders, and Pierson made it his mission to find a way to provide others in his position with a source of marijuana. He petitioned every member of the New Mexico House of Representatives.

    They heard his voice and implemented the program in February 1978. Unfortunately, Pierson died before he could reap the benefits of his hard work.

    However, this was the first significant step toward legal access for all those in need. Excellent work, New Mexico!

    Medical Marijuana

    In more recent times, New Mexico updated its laws to provide medical marijuana to patients with a wider variety of medical conditions.

    In 2007, Governor Bill Richardson signed legislation that created a much more comprehensive medical marijuana program. New Mexico was the 12th state to legalize medical marijuana.

    Under the medical cannabis program, called the Lynn and Erin Compassionate Use Act, patients can access up to 8 ounces of marijuana in 90 days.

    Patients can purchase marijuana from any one of the state’s licensed non-profit producers and legally possess any paraphernalia required to use it.

    The Lynn and Erin Compassionate Use Act also allows patients to grow their marijuana at home. However, patients need to apply for a Personal Production License with the New Mexico Department of Health before starting their home-grow operation. The fee to apply is $30.

    If approved, patients in New Mexico can legally own up to 4 mature marijuana plants and 12 seedlings.

    Although this legislation provides several protections for medical marijuana users, there are some restrictions.

    If You Are a Medical Marijuana Patient in New Mexico, You Are Not Protected From:
    • Criminal prosecution for lying to a police officer about the extent of your participation in the program to avoid arrest.
    • Criminal prosecution as a result of consuming marijuana in public places (parks, buses, recreation centers, etc.), on school grounds, or in your workplace.
    • Damages or criminal prosecution as a result of driving under the influence of marijuana.
    • Criminal prosecution for transferring medical marijuana to a person not approved by the New Mexico Department of Public Health.
    • Criminal prosecution as a result of transporting marijuana into or out of New Mexico.

    The short version is don’t drive high, lie to the police, smoke in public, give marijuana to someone without a medical marijuana license, or take marijuana into or out of New Mexico.

    If you follow those rules, you shouldn’t have any trouble with medical marijuana in New Mexico.

    How Do I Get a Medical Marijuana Card in New Mexico?

    New Mexico’s medical marijuana program has been running quite smoothly since the Government implemented it. Here’s what it takes to qualify.

    First of all, you must be a resident of New Mexico.

    Then, you’ll need to have an eligible medical condition.

    New Mexico Medical Marijuana Eligible Conditions

    • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
    • Anorexia
    • Cachexia
    • Arthritis
    • Cancer
    • Cervical dystonia
    • Chronic pain
    • Crohn’s disease
    • Epilepsy
    • Glaucoma
    • Hepatitis C
    • HIV/AIDS
    • Hospice patients
    • Huntington’s disease
    • Intractable nausea/vomiting
    • Multiple sclerosis
    • Painful peripheral neuropathy
    • Parkinson’s disease
    • Post-traumatic stress disorder
    • Spinal cord damage

    If you have one or more of the above conditions, you’ll need to contact your doctor and get a signed statement recommending marijuana as a treatment.

    Next, you’ll need to go online and register with the New Mexico Department of Public Health. Once you are registered, fill out the application found here and submit it through the online registry.

    Registering with the New Mexico Department of Public Health for medical marijuana is free.

    Is Delta 8 THC Legal in New Mexico in 2022?

    Delta 8 is legal in New Mexico. Some states have banned it, even ones that have legalized recreational marijuana, sometimes due to assumptions that it’s a synthetic cannabinoid. However, this isn’t true since delta 8 occurs naturally; a special extraction process just speeds this up.

    Delta 8 has risen to the top partly because it’s a (federally) legal alternative to marijuana, as long as it’s from hemp. But besides the high, it’s also great because it’s more mellow than THC and easier to tolerate for some people.

    How to Buy Delta 8 THC

    Since it’s legal, you won’t have any problem finding delta 8. It’s probably in the gas station down the street. While that seems convenient, don’t waste your money. Most places don’t test the products and have no idea what they’re selling. Plus, you don’t know how long it’s been sitting around.

    Online shops are much safer and have better prices; you’ll also know right away if they put their delta 8 through third-party tests or not. Since that’s the only way to know what’s in the D8, make sure you look.

    There are many online vendors that offer high-quality delta 8. The selection alone is enough reason to buy online — you’ll find things like edibles, flower, shatter, vape, tincture, and some truly unique creations.

    The following companies are a notch above the rest:

    If you’re looking for delta 8, stick with a company that cares about its customers (and its products), like one of the above.

    Recommended CBD Retailers in New Mexico

    If you can’t get to a dispensary, here are a few other places you can try.

    Albuquerque

    1. Electric Clouds
    2. Oasis Vape
    3. Duke City Vapors
    4. The CBD Boutique
    5. Rio Grande Hemp Company
    6. Nature’s Secret CBD and Oils

    Santa Fe

    1. Fruit of the Earth Organics
    2. Sacred Garden Santa Fe
    3. Drip N’ Vape
    4. I-Vape Clouds
    5. Electric Gold Vaporizers
    6. Hemp Apotheke

    Las Cruces

    1. The Vapory
    2. South West Vapes
    3. TKO Vapor
    4. CBD American Shaman
    5. Herb N’ Legend

    Rio Rancho

    1. Evergreen Herbal Market
    2. Oasis Vape Rio Rancho
    3. Magnum Vapors
    4. Vapor Rio
    5. Mix N Mojo Smoke Shop

    One of the stores listed above should be able to help you with all your CBD needs. If you don’t see your city here, take a look at your local vape shop or, ideally, a dispensary.

    Otherwise, you can always find CBD through a reliable online supplier!

    Final Notes: Buying CBD & Delta 8 THC in New Mexico

    New Mexico is a great place to be if you’re shopping for CBD or any other cannabis product. Not only is marijuana legal, but you can also try delta 8. Many people prefer it’s milder high.

    If you need to buy locally, a dispensary will be safest, but beware that they’re also expensive.

    Overall, you’ll find the best CBD and delta 8 through an online store. Go this route and you won’t run out of products to try any time soon!

    CBD Oil in New Mexico [2022 Buyers Guide]

    A majority of states in America now permit medical marijuana. A growing number of locations also allow adult-use cannabis. However, it is less clear-cut when it comes to CBD oil. Even states that have legalized recreational marijuana don’t necessarily have specific cannabidiol laws. The assumption is that because cannabis is legal, CBD is too by default.

    This isn’t strictly true, and few locations offer clear guidance. This is why we have created guides to CBD oil laws in various states. Today, it is the turn of New Mexico. We look at whether the state tolerates CBD. First, however, let’s briefly outline its stance regarding cannabis.

    What Are the Marijuana Laws in New Mexico?

    New Mexico has one of the oldest MMJ programs in the United States. Governor Bill Richardson signed Senate Bill 523 into law in 2007, thus legalizing medical marijuana. Interestingly, NM had the first medical cannabis law enacted by any American state in 1978. However, it only allowed MMJ via a federally-approved research program.

    In April 2019, Governor Lujan Grisham signed Senate Bill 323 into law. It decriminalized the possession of up to half an ounce of cannabis, which is now a petty misdemeanor. You will receive a fine of $50 for your first offense. SB 323 also made New Mexico the first state to decriminalize the possession of drug paraphernalia.

    Qualifying conditions for medical cannabis in New Mexico include, but are not limited to:

    • Alzheimer’s disease
    • ALS
    • Cancer
    • Chronic pain
    • Crohn’s Disease
    • Glaucoma
    • Hepatitis C
    • HIV/AIDS
    • Intractable nausea and vomiting
    • Parkinson’s disease
    • Severe anorexia or cachexia
    • Sleep apnea
    • Spinal cord damage

    What About Recreational Marijuana in New Mexico?

    In March 2019, the state’s House of Representatives narrowly approved House Bill 356. It aimed to legalize adult-use cannabis in New Mexico. It even established a system of distribution. However, HB 356 died in the Senate.

    Unperturbed, Governor Grisham continued to push legislation. In April 2021, she signed House Bill 2, the Cannabis Regulation Act, into law. It passed both the House and Senate during a special legislative session called by Grisham.

    Recreational cannabis officially became legal for adults aged 21+ to possess on June 29, 2021. It is now possible to carry up to two ounces of marijuana on your person outdoors, with no possession limit indoors. Each adult can cultivate a maximum of six mature and six immature plants in a private residence. Retail sales will begin in April 2022.

    One could argue that it is a necessary step since Mexico is close to legalizing marijuana. New Mexico will share a large border with a huge nation that allows recreational cannabis if that happens.

    Now that adult-use marijuana is legal in New Mexico, surely the legality of CBD is straightforward?

    Is CBD Oil Legal in New Mexico?

    Yes! New Mexico has followed the lead of most states by legalizing the production of industrial hemp. It also allows the use of products derived from it. NM was one of the states that looked to legalize hemp after the 2014 U.S. Farm Bill. However, the Governor at the time, Susana Martinez, vetoed the bill.

    The New Mexico Supreme Court overturned the veto in 2017, however. The state legislature moved forward and ruled that hemp with a maximum of 0.3% THC is permitted for cultivation. This was over a year before the 2018 Farm Bill made hemp with no more than 0.3% THC federally legal to cultivate.

    Technically, the latest iteration of the Farm Bill did not make CBD federally legal. However, most states tolerate CBD use even if they don’t have specific laws legalizing it.

    In March 2019, New Mexico lawmakers passed HB 581 into law. It legalized hemp and started creating a framework for its cultivation, testing, transport, and processing. Therefore, you are on safe ground by purchasing CBD oil from hemp with a maximum of 0.3% THC. Please note that law enforcement can still apprehend any individual possessing more than eight ounces of hemp.

    However, it is a different story with CBD derived from marijuana. At present, you require a New Mexico MMJ card to purchase it, although this is set to change soon. In February 2020, Governor Lujan signed SB 139 into law. It limited the use of MMJ cards to residents of the state only. Therefore, visitors to the state shouldn’t try to buy CBD oil from cannabis right now.

    Industrial Hemp in New Mexico

    It was only with the advent of HB 581 that the industrial hemp industry in New Mexico could begin in earnest. While the CBD industry remains unregulated, the hemp sector offers protection for farmers and consumers.

    HB 581 only allows hemp with a maximum THC content of 0.3% by dry weight. To cultivate hemp legally in the state, you need to pay $1,000 to apply for a license from the New Mexico Department of Agriculture (NMDA).

    The bill states that you need separate permits for cultivation, extraction, and manufacturing hemp products. Therefore, if you want to proceed with a vertically integrated operation, you must pay three fees.

    NM hemp farmers also pay an annual $650 base registration fee for indoor growing and $750 for outdoor cultivation. They also pay $10 per variety grown, $6 per acre of production indoors, and $0.75 per 1,000 square feet of outdoor production. Farmers can choose between growing from seeds or clones.

    All hemp plants are tested to ensure they meet NMDA guidelines. The state destroys products with more than 0.3% THC. Furthermore, all hemp grown in New Mexico requires testing for the following:

    • Heavy metals
    • Residual solvents
    • CBD dry weight content
    • Pesticide residue
    • THC concentration and percentage
    • Microbial organisms, yeast, and mold

    CBD products from hemp must include labels with a QR code that directs to the product’s certificate of analysis. Labels must also state the product’s expiry date, CBD content, and date of manufacture.

    How Old Do You Have to Be to Buy CBD in New Mexico?

    If you’re looking to buy CBD in New Mexico under the industrial hemp pilot program, you must be 18+. Indeed, certain smoke and head shops that sell cannabidiol won’t let anyone under 21 enter the store, let alone buy CBD. If you want cannabidiol derived from cannabis, you must have an MMJ card for now. However, recreational marijuana sales will begin in April 2022.